Welcome Anonymous !


 


Alpha Squad US TeamSpeak Viewer

SIX Updater

General discussion about ARMA, the OFP successor.

SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:14 am

Download the latest version.

Read documentation.

Also read the user section here: http://six.dev-heaven.net/wagn/Six_Updater+zSync_Setup
(except manual config URL setup is no longer needed).


SIX Updater forum on Google Wave.

Tutorial video on YT.

This is going to be the new tool for staying up to date and joining the games.

The updating procedure with Six Updater:

1. On the right side, select the Servers tab then look for AlphaSquad servers in the list.
Select the one you're going to play on (you can find our servers easily by typing 'alphas' in the list).

2. Set the gameserver password (w1a) in the password column on the right of the server name (type it there and then click somewhere else to get it saved).

3. Click New Preset with selected. A new preset for that server will be added to the left side. Select it then press Save on top.

4. If you have any red items in the preset, click on top left "Run updater" and select Convert to SixUpdater. You will only need to do this once.

5. Click on Save on the top and select Speedtest. You only need to do this step once in a while to make sure you're using the best mirror.

6. Click again on "Run updater" and select "Install or Update".

7. There might be new userconfig files that need to be copied to the main\userconfig. I will announce when there are any. You must update them or you can have Six Updater do it for you by choosing "Process Userconfigs" on "Run updater". This will copy the new files and make backups on your existing ones.

8. Whenever there's a new beta or JayArma2Lib update, you must copy the dsound.dll in the executable folders (main and main\expansion\beta). You can do that automatically with SU by selecting "JayArma2Lib - dsound.dll" from the ModApps on top right then clicking on the Launch button on it's right side.

9. If you're all set you can do "Run updater" and "Join Server".

The day-to-day procedure will be simpler, just opening SU and doing "Run updater" > "Install or Update and Join Server".
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater+ FAQ

Postby Splint » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:18 am

Last edited by Splint on Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Splint
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:47 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:58 am

Updated first post with link to docu. You only need .NET 4 which you can get with Windows Update.
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Splint » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:36 am

:)
Last edited by Splint on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Splint
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:47 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:00 am

Updated first post with instructions. Will add more info after verifying everything working on my side.
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Grunt_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:42 am

Alpha Squad servers not showing up on my server list???? The F$@# YOU one is there...but no AS..... :rolleyes:
User avatar
Grunt_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:14 am

Grunt_AS wrote:Alpha Squad servers not showing up on my server list???? The F$@# YOU one is there...but no AS..... :rolleyes:


Look harder, they're there. Hit "A" then go 4 pages down. Name starts with AlphaSquad... not AS.
Updated first with notes about userconfigs. We have new ones for the latest update.
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Buehgler_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:10 pm

Thanks for doing this Rob. I hope the reduced download bandwidth of using the SIX Updater will pay off for everyone.

I have 2 questions.
1) It seems like the updater is automatically starting TS when I select "startgame". I do not think I told it to do that, and I can not find out how/where to stop it. Any ideas?
2) I always found the SIX Updater beta updates annoying, since I can not control when I switch to a new beta. But I do not see a way to run with a beta without having it enabled for update. Any idea if that is possible?
Image
User avatar
Buehgler_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 6:53 pm

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:21 pm

1. Uncheck AutoStart Apps in Options (top right) - not persistent though, this will be need to be improved.

2. Enable beta with the 'beta' checkbox globally on Home, or on Profile.
But don't convert or install it with Six Updater, but instead install from the official beta site. Six Updater won't touch it, but will launch with it etc.
You can also set the .exe in profile and add extra mods in the additional parameters in profile - see attached.
Attachments
profile.PNG
(123.87 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Grunt_AS » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:26 pm

No...I only get 153 effin servers...and AS is not one of them. I have uninstalled and re-installed the updater...and 153 servers is all that will show.
User avatar
Grunt_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Grunt_AS » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:22 am

Grrr...ok...it found 833 servers...then promptly stopped working... :/
User avatar
Grunt_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Robalo_AS » Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:52 am

The search function got improved, you can now type alphas in the list and you'll get our servers immediately.
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Splint » Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:58 am

:-X
Last edited by Splint on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Splint
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:47 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Splint » Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:18 am

:-X
Last edited by Splint on Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Splint
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:47 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: SIX Updater

Postby Splint » Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:41 am

:-X
Last edited by Splint on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Splint
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:47 pm
Location: Nevada

Next

Return to ARMA :: Main Forum

cron
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • Who is online
  • In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 3 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 311 on Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:22 pm
  • Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest
Presets
Main Style
Patterns
Accent Color
Apply